Latest Music


Follow The Violent




Lead Vocals: Mike Protich
Drums: Pat Gerasia
Guitar: Dave McGarry

As 2019 came to a close, rock band Red Sun Rising announced an indefinite hiatus as its
members began to pursue other opportunities.

Soon after, the world as we knew it sunk into the deep hole of the pandemic. The time in
lockdown helped to fuel to the creative process for singer and songwriter Mike Protich, who
was in search of a new music release and to stretch his creative muscles.

He recruited two members from his former band — Patrick Gerasia on drums and David
McGarry on guitar. The threesome began to work remotely during the initial lockdown and
quarantine. They embarked on virtual sessions using home studio setups and collaborating with
producer Albert DiFiore in Nashville Tennessee.

With roots in rock music, the three began to find creative ways to utilize their musicianship
beyond the standard integration of rock bands. They embraced experimentation by blending
the familiar elements of rock music with a newfound appreciation for electronic and digital
sounds. This creative process was evaluated due to the fact that the members were unable to
physically be in a room together to play. Out of this process, The Violent was born. It is truly a
child of this chaotic pandemic — both sonically and lyrically.